Embassy & Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka:

The Embassy and Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka in Austria, located in Vienna, was opened on 1st February 1995. The Resident Ambassador is also the Permanent Representative to the International Organizations, including UN agencies based in Vienna. The Embassy is concurrently accredited to Austria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, the Czech Republic, Republic of Serbia, Slovakia and the Republic of Slovenia.

From a bilateral perspective, the Embassy in Vienna has been engaged in further strengthening bilateral political, trade, investment, cultural and tourism ties with all accredited countries. The Embassy has facilitated high level visits to and from Sri Lanka and engaged in cultural, tourism and trade promotion events. In 2016 H.E. Maithripala Sirisena, President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka visited Austria, leading a high ranking economic and political delegation including Hon. Mangala Samaraweera, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Hon. Ravi Karunanayake, Minister of Finance, Hon. Mahinda Samarasinghe, Minister of Skill Development and Vocational Training, and Hon. Daya Gamage, Minister of Primary Industries. The same year, Hon. Minister Mangala Samaraweera, Minister of Foreign Affairs of Sri Lanka visited Czech Republic for bilateral meetings and Slovenia for bilateral and multilateral meetings. Also Hon. Gayantha Karunatilaka, Minister of Parliamentary Reforms & Mass Media of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka and Chief Government Whip of Parliament and Delegation visited Austria for official meetings with his Austrian counterparts.

Given the large number of UN and international organizations located in Vienna, the Mission also devotes a considerable portion of its work to multilateral affairs. Since the establishment of the Mission, it has actively participated in the deliberations of these international and UN organizations, representing the interests and views of Sri Lanka. This includes the United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO), the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) among others. Moreover, the Permanent Mission has assumed the Chair of Asia-Pacific Group at United Nations in Vienna on January 25, 2017. The Mission has also played a dynamic role in co-ordinating Technical Cooperation and Training Programmes and follow up action on the implementation of and reporting on Resolutions relating to these international and UN organizations, with the relevant authorities in Sri Lanka.

Office Time

Office Days:            Monday - Friday

Consular Hours:         09:00 - 12:00
Office Hours:              09:00 - 17:00

Contact us

Embassy and Permanent Mission of Sri Lanka
Weyringergasse 33, 4th floor
Telephone: +431/5037988
Fax: +431/5037993
Email: [email protected]

Location Map