Jul 27, 2023 | News, Sri Lanka Media Release

Sri Lanka deposited the instrument of ratification of CTBT with the UN Office of Legal Affairs (UNOLA) on 25 July 2023 at the UN Headquarters in New York becoming the 178th State to ratify the CTBT. By depositing CTBT instrument of ratification, Sri Lanka’s status as a signatory is elevated to a complete State Party to the Treaty.

Drafted at the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva, and adopted by the General Assembly on 10 September 1996, the CTBT has been open for signature since 24 September 1996 at the United Nations, New York. Sri Lanka was among the first signatories of the CTBT in October 1996, just days after the Treaty opened for signature. Sri Lanka later entered into a Facility Agreement with the CTBTO in June 2000 which led to the establishment of an auxiliary seismological station in Pallekale, Kandy, as part of the International Monitoring System (IMS) to verify compliance with the CTBT. The Geological Survey & Mines Bureau is the national technical focal point of Sri Lanka for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) based in Vienna, Austria.

The CTBT bans all nuclear explosions everywhere, by everyone, and for all time. The Treaty is nearly universal, with 186 Signatory States and 178 ratifying states. However, the Treaty will only enter into force, once it is ratified by all 44 States listed in its Annex 2.

Sri Lanka’s ratification at this juncture bears testimony to its long-standing commitment towards nuclear non-proliferation and its pursuit to achieve the principle objectives of the CTBT.

Ministry of Foreign Affairs


26 July 2023